These 34 states only count votes if they are received by Election Day: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, . . . /1
. . . Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

16 states accept votes received after Election Day, if they are postmarked by a certain day - some the day before the election, some the day of the election. How long after Election Day the ballot can be received varies by state. /3
The 16 states are:

Alaska, California, District of Columbia, Florida, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, North Carolina, Ohio, Texas, Utah, Washington, West Virginia /4
So, if DJT is ahead in the electoral college at Election Day, the outcome will only change if: Biden holds ALL the states he’s “won” & states from the list of 16 that are for Trump flip to Biden & they also carry enough votes to get Biden past 270. /5
So, for example, if DJT has more than 270 based on states that stop counting on Ectikn Day & Biden is already winning New York, it’s not going to matter if New York is still counting votes; it won’t change the winner. /6
That means Alaska, Florida, Iowa, Kansas, North Dakota, North Carolina, Ohio, Texas, Utah & West Virginia are the states to really pay attention to. /7
The other thing is: this was the status as of Jan 1. Some states have or are in the process of changing their rules or how the “postmark” is confirmed due to the pandemic. Nevada & Virginia for example & there is some litigation ongoing about changes. In Oct, I’ll revisit this./7
You can follow @McAdooGordon.
Tip: mention @twtextapp on a Twitter thread with the keyword “unroll” to get a link to it.

Latest Threads Unrolled: