# Thread

Sabarimala pilgrimage is one that has great spiritual meaning and could be translated to physical life with real results. In this thread, let’s explore one of the most important aspect of visiting Swami Ayyappa temple in Sabarimala.
@anexcommie @shreikanth @HelloNNewman
To have darshan of Swami Ayyappa, one first needs to ascend the Holy 18 Steps (Pathinettam Padi). The entire sequence one must follow has greater spiritual meaning. Over the years many have interpreted the meaning of these 18 steps in different ways.

@hathyogi31 @Sanskritii_1
I’m however gonna discuss about the interpretation which I believe (and widely accepted) to accurately describes the spiritual meaning and fit in to what I come to understand about Sabarimala Pilgrimage.

@harshasherni @harshdeshpremi @RajiIndustani @SriRamya21 @Kishoreciyer1
The first 5 steps signify Panchendriyas (five human senses with which we perceive the world) - Visual (vision), Auditory (hearing), Olfactory (smell), Gustatory (taste) and Tactile (touch).
The next 8 steps denote Ashtaragas (emotions) - Kama (desire), Krodha (anger), Lobha (inordinate desire), Moha (attachment), Madha (pride), Matsarya (unhealthy competition), Asuya (jealousy) and Dhumb (boastfulness).

@LevinaNeythiri @Itishree001 @devkshetra
The next 3 steps signify ‘Triguas’ (characteristics) – Sattva, Rajas, and Tamas

Finally, the last two steps represent Vidya (knowledge) and Avidya (ignorance).

@Dharma_Yoddhaa @VedicWisdom1 @AlpaChauhan_ @_Krantikari
Here’s how my Guruswami explained this to me: One need to first gain control over their five senses, this will help them in controlling their emotions. Once someone gains control over their emotion, they improve their characteristic from Tamas to Rajas to Sattva.
with Sattva characteristic one pursues knowledge with the sole intention of removing ignorance. As person emerges through this journey, they realise ‘Tat Tvam Asi’ – meaning ‘thou art that’. It is only after this realisation that one sees Brahman.

@TempleTrails @sambhashan_in
Similarly, when one ascends the Holy 18 steps, the first thing a bhakta sees is ‘Tat Tvam Asi’ and only then they move towards ‘sannithanam’ for Swami Ayyappa’s darshan. Such is the significance of Holy 18 steps in Sabarimala, that there’s specific pooja done to these steps,
You can follow @almightykarthik.
Tip: mention @twtextapp on a Twitter thread with the keyword “unroll” to get a link to it.

Latest Threads Unrolled: